Of Porches and BMWs

(This event took place back in 2010 which I have written down in my journal. The kids are now teenagers but not driving yet. Close though.)

Hubby and I were charged to drive 5 kids – 2 girls and 3 boys – to a party earlier tonight. Since we wouldn’t fit in one car, we drove separately. I got the girls (no, they’re not sisters) and hubby got the boys. While driving, the girls had this conversation:

Girl 1: When I’m 16, I’m going to drive a Lexus.
Girl 2: I don’t like Lexus!
Girl 1: Oh, a BMW then!
Girl 2: I’m going to drive a Porsche!

Listening to them, I was amused and horrified at the same time. A 7 and an 8-year-old having a conversation about the cars they’re going to drive when they’re 16 with no idea how much those vehicles cost. I guess they go by what their parents drive and assume that they’re going to be driving the same cars. I entered into the conversation and told them that maybe at 16 they should not be driving Porsches and BMW’s. That maybe, they should wait until they’re done with school, earning good money and then drive the car they want to drive, buying it with their own money. They both responded that they need a car at 16 because they would then be driving themselves to places. I said I understand they would a need a car then but it doesn’t have to be the cars they mentioned but something cheaper but still reliable. I mentioned Kia as an example and they both said, “What is that?” Maybe I should have used Honda or Toyota as an example. Anyway, I went on lecturing but I think it didn’t register.

At the end of it, both girls were still really confident that they would get their BMW and Porsche at 16. Perhaps they will. The BMW kid will most likely get hers but I’m not too sure about the Porsche girl. What I’m sure though, is that she’s most likely going to throw a fit if she doesn’t get it.

I told hubby about the conversation while we were having dinner and he said he’s so glad that we do not have a girl. If we had, then we would probably be moving out of our neighborhood when our child gets closer to being a teenager. He thinks the pressure to have whatever your friends have is greater and more common in girls. Based on observation, I suppose that is true.

 

Leave a comment